top of page

A Way Known Only To God


A Way Known Only To God

(A Way Known Only To God)

David Wilkerson

All the commandments which I command thee this day shall ye observe to do,

that ye may live, and multiply, and go in and possess the land which the LORD sware unto your fathers.

Deuteronomy 8:1

And thou shalt remember all the way which the LORD thy God led thee these forty years in the wilderness, to humble thee, and to prove thee, to know what was in thine heart, whether thou wouldest keep his commandments, or no.

Deuteronomy 8:2

And he humbled thee, and suffered thee to hunger, and fed thee with manna, which thou knewest not, neither did thy fathers know; that he might make thee know that man doth not live by bread only, but by every word that proceedeth out of the mouth of the LORD doth man live.

Deuteronomy 8:3

He has a plan for our lives

An amazing thing is the moment you get saved,

the moment you give your heart to the Lord,

fully trust Him, this plan goes into operation.

The problem with His plan, He only tells us the destination

He doesn’t tell us the route where we gonna go.

I’ve been in the route for over sixty years

And all those sixty years He’s never told me the path.

He said,

“I want you not to miss the message of all that you’ve been through

of these past years of my leading you in a path that only I know.”

And He alone knows the path that you’re taking.

He knows where you headed.

He knows the plan He has for your life and mine.

He says, “I’m taking you down and any trust of your flesh and confidence in your flesh. I’m bringing you to a place where you’re going to have to be totally dependent upon Me. You can’t look to men. You can’t look to yourself.”

“I did that to humble you.”

(Deuteronomy 8:2)

(In other words)

“I tried to bring you down where there was no other way but God, there’s no person.”

Humanly it’s impossible to get out of the situations that God has allowed in our lives.

And He said,

“I did this to test you and to humble thee and to prove thee to know what is in thine hearts, whether you would obey or keep My commandments, or not.”

(Deuteronomy 8:2)

And what were those commandments that He gave to us, gave to Israel?

He said,

“Fear Me. Dont’ fear the world, and trust Me, because the great I am is with you.”

God’s saying, tried to tell them and tried to get them to understand,

“You gonna keep going through these things until you get a lesson, until you understand what is all about, until all the questions are gone.”

This is why God took Israel the wilderness in the first place,

because He’s trying to bring forth a testimony in a people

who can go through any hard time,

go through any test, and say,

“God is with me. And God will bring me through.”

Every test that God brought them to, they miserably failed, and God ties it to their unbelief.

He said, “Because of unbelief they could not enter in to that which I brought them in the wilderness. I brought them into the school that they can graduate and be worshippers, they can walk by faith, before the whole world.”

And God’s still looking for that people.

God tells Israel,

“I love you. I protected you. I’ve taken you in My hands, and I’ve carried you through a wilderness. But you still do not believe Me. You still do not trust Me. You worship Me in the holy place. You worship Me in the tabernacle. But when you’re in your tent you complain and you murmur. I hear it.”

And how God despises in us, in me, and in you.

When we come to this testing time.

“Oh God, I don’t want to doubt You. But this is a big one.

Lord, this is bigger than anything You have ever dealt with in my life before.”

Actually it’s not.

Because you see God doesn’t know anything about bigness.

Because He is bigger than all of them.

He is the universe.

The Scripture says, “He takes us by the hand.” and He said,

“If you’re facing fire I’m gonna take you by the hand,

I’m gonna walk you through it.

If you go through waters and floods,

I’m not gonna send you through it.

I will be back here cheering for you.

I’m gonna be with you.

By the hand I’m gonna with you through it.”

He said, “I lead you through all of the wilderness.”

So everything he went through God lead them.

This is by His own word.

You see God’s after one thing.

He’s always been and He’s still after one thing to find people

who stand before the whole world and trust Him before the eyes of men.

Those who are steady and strong in faith.

You say, “Oh, I am human.”

No, you’re supernatural because you’ve got the Holy Ghost in you.

You’re supernatural when the Holy Ghost comes upon you.

I love to meet people who’ve come through hard times and have trusted God.

And they’re battling in their warfare, and they have not fainted because they have trusted in God through it all.

If you love Him,

and if you want to come into

fullness of the blessing of the Word of God,

if you want the full blessing

of the anointing of the Holy Spirit in your life,

if you want to be able to testify

before the whole world,

then when you are in the hardest time

and it looks hopeless you’re gonna raise this Word of God,

you’re gonna get on your knees before the Lord and say,

“God, live or die, I’m Yours. I’m gonna trust You through this!”

bottom of page